Chesley Award

The Chesley Award is given to a member of the Society in recognition of her/his sustained and substantial contribution to research in preeclampsia, not only for her/his work but also for encouraging the work of others. The award winner is presented with $ 1000 and the Chesley plaque. The announcement and presentation will be made at the opening ceremony by the Society president.

Previous awardees were:

1986   Leon C. Chesley (USA)

1988   Marshall D. Lindheimer (USA)

1990   Priscilla Kincaid-Smith (Australia)

1992   Malcolm Symonds (UK)

1994   Norman F. Gant (USA)

1996   Henk C.S. Wallenburg (The Netherlands)

1998   James M. Roberts (USA)

2000   Christopher W.G. Redman (UK)

2002 Baha Sibai (USA)

2004   John M. Davison (UK)

2006   Frederick P. Zuspan (USA)

2008   Robert Pijnenborg (Belgium)

2010   Ananth Karumanchi (USA)

2012   Fiona Broughton-Pipkin (UK)

2014   Laura Magee and Peter von Dadelszen (Canada)

2016  Thomas Easterling (USA)

2018 Mark Brown (Australia)


Zuspan Awards

Two Awards of $ 1000 each will be given to the two young investigators who at the Congress are judged to have undertaken and then present the most outstanding clinical work in relation to the study of Hypertension in Pregnancy.

The Awards are named ‘Zuspan Awards from Perinatal Resources’. Frederick P. Zuspan is a distinguished founder Member of ISSHP and was President from 1982-1984.

Young Investigator Travel Awards

To encourage promising young researchers, the ISSHP offers Young Investigator Travel Awards. Usually up to 30 Awards are given to young investigators selected from applicants who submitted an abstract. Priority will be given to researchers from Low to Middle Income Countries.

Eligibility: The applicant must have made a primary contribution to research in the past four years. The applicant must not be over 34 years of age at the time of the congress, i.e., 34 years or younger at the congress.